Australia Immigration : Requirements for Australia Skilled Immigration Program Nominated Occupation

  • To be able to apply for Australia immigration under general skilled migration system, applicants must nominate an occupation from the skilled occupation list.
  • There are certain visa subclasses and points an Australia immigration applicant must score which are as follows:
    • Skilled – Independent (subclass 189) – 60 points
    • Skilled – Sponsored (subclass 190) – 60 points
    • Skilled – Regional Sponsored (subclass 489) – 60 points


  • Applicants for Australia immigration can score points according to the age group they fall in, with those aged between 25 and 32 gaining the most points. An applicant over 45 years gains no points.
18-24 25 points
25-32 30 points
33-39 25 points
40-44 15 points
45-49 0 points

English Language Requirements

  • All SkillSelect applicants for Australia immigration must take up IELTS to claim points for Superior or Proficient English language skills.
  • Those who are native English speakers or who have been awarded a tertiary degree from a university equivalent to Australian university standards are not required to take up the IELTS.
Superior (IELTS 8 or more) 20 points
Proficient (IELTS 7 or more) 10 points
Competent (IELTS 6 or more) 0 points

Work Experience

  • Candidates for Australia immigration can claim points for their work experience in a skilled occupation, provided the experience must be in an occupation included in the Skilled occupation list provided by the Government of Australia.
  • Separate points are awarded for work experience gained in Australia and elsewhere
1 year 5 points
3 years 10 points
5 years 15 points
8 years 20 points

Skilled employment points distribution for within Australia

3 years 5 points
5 years 10 points
8 years 15 points

Skilled employment points distribution for Outside Australia

Educational Qualifications

  • Applicants for Australia immigration are offered points for their educational qualifications. However, points are awarded only for the candidate’s highest qualification only.
  • To claim the points for Australia immigration under this category, you must hold a degree which is recognized by the Australian government and is comparable to an Australian qualification. Also, the degree you hold must be related to applicants’ nominated occupation.
  • Applicants who have an Australian qualification from an Australian educational institution are awarded 5 points for their qualification.
Doctorate 20 points
Bachelor’s or Master’s 15 points
Australian Diploma or Trade qualification 10 points
Award or qualification recognized by assessing authority 10 points

Additional Points

Additional points are awarded for various other categories. They are as follows:

  • Regional Study – 5 points if applicants meet the 2-year study requirement while studying and living in Australia.
  • Community Language skills – 5 points are awarded to the applicants if they have language skills as of a translator or interpreter of one of Australia’s community languages.
  • Spouse/Partner skills and qualification – 5 points are awarded for the spouse’s skills and qualification who is included in the visa application, provided he/she is not an Australian resident/citizen of Australia.
  • Professional Degree – 5 points are awarded to the Australia immigration applicants if they have completed a 4-year professional degree course in Australia, provided it is approved by the Australian Government
  • Nomination and sponsorship (Subclass 190 and Subclass 489 only) – Applicants under this visa sub classes can be awarded up to 10 points

Get in touch with MWT’s expert consultants for an apt guide to your Australian visa application process!

Quick Enquiry