How to Gain CCL Points for Australian Skilled Migration.

With its dynamic and progressive economy and plentiful opportunities for a rewarding career, Australia is a dream destination for every skilled professional. If you are thinking of emigrating Down Under, the General Skilled Migration Program is the pathway to PR that most overseas applicants take.

Australia has an open-door policy for skilled overseas immigrants who can contribute in a positive way to the country’s economy, through the Skilled Stream of the Australian Migration program.

What is the General Skilled Migration Program?

Applicants are granted points based on certain criteria at the time of invitation, and you can get points for your Age, English language skills, Education, Employment experience, and so on. One category in which you can easily pick up points is the Credentialed Community Language(CCL); where you can avail of 5 points if you hold a recognized qualification in a recognized community language.

In order to be credentialed in a community language and get the bonus of 5 points, candidates should submit proof of one of the following:

  • accreditation at the paraprofessional level or above
  • certification at the certified provisional level or above, or
  • community language credential for interpreting or translating by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters.

Fluent in your native language? You can successfully pass a NAATI CCL test in any one of these Indian languages: Gujarati, Hindi, Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, or Punjabi, and get five bonus Skilled Migration points awarded. Over forty other foreign languages are also included in the list of recognized languages, such as Arabic, Bangala, Dutch, French, German, Greek, and many more.

The NAATI CLL Test: How to Ace the Assessment at Your Very First Attempt!

The Credentialed Community Language Test (CCL) is an assessment of language abilities at a community level and is administered by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd (NAATI).

Note that this test only assesses your capabilities for the purpose of obtaining the visa, and is not a certification enabling you to work as an interpreter or translator.

The assessment is completed in 35 minutes, which includes 10 minutes of reading time. If the test runs for longer than this duration, NAATI will cease the test and the performance till that point will be judged.

The test includes two dialogue recordings of approximately 300 words each. Each dialogue is a conversation between a person speaking native English, and someone speaking in the other language (such as Malayalam). These dialogues reflect true-to-life situations that could happen in Australian society and are designed to check whether the candidate can understand and speak both languages.

The topics that are covered may include Health, Employment, Business, Housing, Social Services, and many other similar fields of current relevance. Candidates will be assessed primarily on two factors: the competency in English and the other language, and the level of formality with which the meaning is transferred from one language to the other.

Any errors will result in marks being deducted from the overall score. These errors could include:

  • Accuracy (correctness of information)
  • Distortions (misrepresentation of information)
  • Omissions (removal of information)
  • Insertions (addition of information)

Be careful to convey information accurately, without changing the meaning or distorting facts in any way. Information should not be removed or added incorrectly.

There are two examiners, and each will award scores separately. In a situation where there is significant disagreement between the scores of the two assessors, a third assessor may be brought in to determine the final scores.

Each of the two dialogues will be worth 45 marks, and candidates must score at least 29 marks in each dialogue and an overall score of 63 out of 90 in order to be deemed as having successfully passed.

The result for the CCL Test will be given as:

  • Pass: 63 or higher (marks out of 90)
  • Marginal Fail: between 58 and 62.5 (marks out of 90)
  • Clear Fail: less than 58 (marks out of 90)

The test results will be emailed within 4-6 weeks of the test date. They are valid for a period of three years from the date of issue.

Candidates with a clear Fail cannot apply for a review, as it is highly improbable that the result will change.

Would you like to know more? Contact MWT Education Consultancy today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *