Restrictions on travel from very high-risk countries

Only New Zealand citizens and their immediate families are permitted to fly to New Zealand from Brazil, India, Pakistan, and Papua New Guinea.

To minimize the risk of COVID-19, travel to New Zealand is strictly controlled. Brazil, India, Pakistan, and Papua New Guinea have all been designated as countries with very high-risk. Only New Zealand citizens and their immediate family members who are traveling from a high-risk country are allowed to enter the country.

Other visitors, including New Zealand citizens, are only permitted to enter if they have spent 14 days outside of a country with a very high risk before their arrival.

All other immigration requirements apply.

Particulars of measures announced by the New Zealand Government consist of:

• Limiting travel from very high-risk countries to New Zealand citizens, their families, dependent children, the parent of a dependent child who is a New Zealand citizen, and others with substantial humanitarian reasons, according to the New Zealand Government. To enter New Zealand, all non-New Zealand residents must have a valid visa.

• Permitted travelers must have a negative nasopharyngeal RT-PCR (PCR) test result completed within 72 hours of departure from an approved laboratory. Other forms of tests are ineligible.

Travelers arriving in New Zealand from countries where quarantine is not needed must spend 14 days in controlled isolation or quarantine.

Exemptions to travel restrictions from countries with a high-risk

Exemptions to these requirements are not possible, even on humanitarian grounds, according to Immigration New Zealand. Managed Isolation and Quarantine has information on exemptions for visitors who have a valid visa to enter New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *